Scientific events

March 26, 2021

Congratulations to Gaspard Hedouin who successfully defended his PhD on “Ligands BiaxPhos à double chiralité axiale et leurs applications en catalyse asymétrique”


February 01, 2021

Joanna Wencel-Delord was awarded the 2020 Guy Ourisson Price congratulations to her! To know more :

December 14, 2020

Congratulations to Matus Hlavac who successfully defended his PhD on “Développement rationnel d’inhibiteurs de kinases dédiés au traitement des maladies néoplasiques et des complications diabétiques”

ERC Starting Grant

September 3, 2020

Congratulations to Joanna Wencel-Delord who has been awarded the prestigious ERC starting grant. To know more visit :

July 15, 2020

Congratulations to Johanna Frey who successfully defended her PhD on “Couplages C-N atroposélectifs catalysés au cuivre par utilisation d’iodes hypervalents.”


May 27, 2020

An ITN on C-H activation piloted by Joanna Wencel-Delord is awarded a european Marie Curie H2020 grant. CHAIR is a collaborative ITN (Innovative Training Networks) program funded by EC H2020 Marie Curie Action piloted by Joanna Wencel-Delord from Syncat team and aims to train a new generation of creative, entrepreneurial and innovative early-stage researchers able to face current and future challenges in the field of C-H activation. The consortium is made of several teams of internationally-recognized top researchers from all over Europe. To know more, visit the dedicated website :


February 13, 2020

Joanna Wencel-Delord was awarded the CNRS Bronze Medal, congratulations to her!

November 26, 2019

Congratulations to Joanna Wencel-Delord who successfully defended her “Habilitation à diriger des recherches” on “Sustainable organic synthesis: development of new methodologies implying metal-catalyzed or photoinduced C-H functionalization and use of hypervalent iodines as highly reactive coupling partners.”

November 22, 2019

Congratulations to Lucas Guillemard who successfully defended his PhD on “Utilisation de la lumière visible pour la fonctionnalisation sélective de liaisons C-H d’hétérocycles azotés.”

October 4, 2018

Congratulations to Soufyan Jerhaoui who successfully defended his PhD on “Sulfoxides : new strategy for the asymmetric C(sp3)-H activation”.

July 3, 2018

Congratulations to Joanna Wencel-Delord for the Marc Julia Prize of the DCO. This prize has been awarded in recognition of the quality of the recent papers published by Joanna in the fields of asymmetric C-H activation and axial chirality.


February 12, 2018

We are happy to welcome three Msc students (M2): Thibaud Brégent, Isabel Delso and Nicolas Jacob. Good luck for your research projects!

December 1, 2017

Lucas Guillemard and Soufyan Jerhaoui presented their work at a symposium organized at the ECPM, together with Prof. André Charette, Prof. Olivier Baudoin, Dr Joseph Moran and Prof. Frédéric Patureau as plenary speakers.



November 30, 2017

Congratulations to Quentin Dherbassy who successfully defended his PhD on “Development of asymmetric C-H functionalization reactions”.

November 30, 2017

Congratulations to Peter Šramel who successfully defended his PhD on “Synthesis and biological screening of the tyrosine kinase inhibitors, eg KDR”.

October 16, 2017

Congratulations to Lucie Schiavo who successfully defended her PhD on “Accès à de nouvelles plateformes chirales pour la synthèse d’analogues structuraux de la salvinorine A et de terpènes bioactifs”.

July 21, 2017

Lucas Guillemard presented his work at the 28th edition of the International Conference on Photochemistry in Strasbourg (France).

March 23, 2017

Percia Beatrice Arockiam presented her work at the International Green Catalysis Symposium in Rennes (France).


September 8, 2016

Soufyan Jerhaoui presented his work at the Journées de la Chimie Organique 2016 in Palaiseau (France).

February 25, 2016

Congratulations to Antonella Bochicchio who successfully defended her PhD on “Towards the atropo-stereoselective total synthesis of myricanol”.

December 8, 2014

Congratulations to Boubacar Yalcouye who successfully defended his PhD on “Synthèse atropo-sélective de la partie biarylique de la (-)-steganacine via le couplage de Suzuki-Miyaura et le couplage aryne”.

November 28, 2014

Congratulations to Bruno Commare who successfully defended his PhD on “Conception et synthèse de nouveaux agonistes de récepteurs métabotropiques du glutamate”.

October 25, 2013

Congratulations to Anaïs Berthelot-Bréhier who successfully defended her PhD on “Nouvelles approches vers le contrôle de la chiralité axiale de biaryles via des arynes et en l’absence de métaux de transition”.

October, 2013

Joanna Wencel-Delord joined SynCat as a Chargé de recherche CNRS.

September, 2013

Farah Oulaidi-Lamiable joined SynCat as an ATER.

April, 2013

Congratulations to Bruno Commare for the price of the best poster during scientific days 2013 of the doctoral school MTCE (Médicament, Toxicologie, Chimie et Environnement) at University Paris Descartes.

April, 2013

We are happy to welcome three MSc students (M2): Joséphine Cinqualbre, Geoffrey Schwertz, Etienne Schmitt, and one MSc student (M1): Quentin Dherbassy. Good luck for your research projets !

December 19, 2012

Congratulations to Nicolas Rival who successfully defended his PhD on “An approach towards the synthesis of amphidinol 3, antifungal”.

December 10, 2012

Congratulations to Florence Giornal who successfully defended her PhD on “Novel access to heteroaromatic building blocks bearing fluorinated substituents”.

Retirement Daniel Uguen June 25 2012
June 25, 2012

We celebrated the retirement of our colleague, Professor Daniel Uguen.

June 1, 2012

Congratulations to Marie Barbarotto who successfully defended her PhD on “Total synthesis of trienomycinol, antitumoral”.

Tribute Guy Solladié march 30 2012
March 30, 2012

We payed tribute to our colleague, Professor Guy Solladié.

January 16, 2012

Congratulations to Mercédes Lecea Romero who successfully defended her PhD on “Stereoselective synthesis of the natural metabolite of tocopherol, (S)-g-CEHC, and mono fluorinated trisubstituted olefins”.